If you think your place is small….

When Tega Homes released the floor plans for their Centropolis Condos at the corner of Kent and Gladstone, I saw that they were selling units under 300 square feet.  To be honest, I didn’t really know who would buy one.  It turns out, that a more than a few people did.  Out of the 44 units close to 300 square feet, only three remain.  So it got me thinking,  how does one go about living with such little space?  After a quick Google search, I found this guy in Seattle.  Steve Sauer, an airplane interiors engineer for Boeing, who has converted a 182 square foot basement into a functional apartment for two.  What I find most interesting is that Steve isn’t just occupying the space , he is truly living in it.  Taking inspiration from dwellings in Scandinavia and Japan, places where space is dear, he writes, “I wanted to compress my home to squirt me back out to the community.  That was one of the philosophical reasons.  I want to be able to shop daily, not store a lot and eat really well.”  I encourage you to click here to read the entire story. It is fascinating.

About tylerlaird
Having been born and raised in Ottawa, this city is more than my home, it is a part of who I am and the basis from which all other cities must be compared. I have watched it grow and progress in its size and over time I found myself naturally drawn to the different neighbourhoods, with their varying characters, layouts and styles. After earning a BA in Law from Carleton University, Tyler discovered a new passion, real estate. In 2010, he began to use his passion for Ottawa’s various housing styles and diverse neighbourhoods, to help many people find that place that they can call home.

Leave a Reply

